Graduation and Academic Achievement Awards


More than 500 students will have graduated from FM since last May with about 300 expected to participate in the graduation ceremony t 7 p.m. Friday, May 16.

On Thursday, May 15, there will be an Academic Achievement Awards Ceremony in the FM Theater.

Student speaker Casey Madsen will graduate with an A.A.S. degree in Radiologic Technology. She plans to enroll at SUNY Albany to study human biology (pre-med). Her goal is to be an interventional radiologist.

The Keynote Speaker for the 2014 commencement will be Congressman Chris Gibson.

Congressman Gibson grew up in Columbia County, in the town of Kinderhook. Gibson attended Ichabod Crane.

At 17, Gibson enlisted in the New York National Guard and later earned an ROTC Commission at nearby Siena College. The first in his family to go to college, Gibson graduated magna cum laude with a BA in History. He later earned an MPA and PhD in Government from Cornell University and is the author of Securing the State, a book on national security decision-making published in 2008.

After retiring from the Army in 2010, Gibson was elected to represent the 20th Congressional District and re-elected in 2012 to represent the 19th Congressional District. In Congress, he serves on the House Armed Services Committee (Subcommittees: Tactical Air and Land Forces; Intelligence, Emerging Threats and Capabilities; Military Personnel), the House Agriculture Committee (Subcommittees: General Farm Commodities and Risk Management; Livestock, Rural Development, and Credit), and the Republican Policy Committee.

On Thursday at the Academic Awards Ceremony these candidates will be honored for Honors Concentration Certificates John M. Anthony, Heather L. Bowles, Joshua C. Elston, Chantal N. Intone, Shelly M. Johnson, Levi S. Kennedy, Nora D. King, Luis Martinez, and Nicholas W. Sanders. These students will be winning certificates for Members of WHO’S Who Among Students In American Junior Colleges Pamela Sue Canary, John H. Chapman, III, Matthew Childs, John Conley, Heather Graves, Austin Lee, Casey Madsen, Luis Martinez, Christine McKenney, Lisa Montgomery, Gregory Ruddy, William Shaul, David A. Strausser, and Jessica Tretola. These students will be receiving the F.A.C.E Scholarship Awards: For Graduating/Transfer Award the students are Kullen Bailey, Jessica Rhodes for Returning Student Award the students are Chantel Batuk, Jennifer Greco, and Sonali Kumar.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s